Jesus Christ

Does it really matter whether we say Merry Christmas or Happy Holidays? Why should it? Not everyone believes that Christ is a messiah  Not everyone believes in Christ. Telling someone whether he or she can say Merry Christmas is the same thing as saying someone cannot celebrate Hanukkah, participate in a Holi festival, or go to the Mecca to pray.

I was raised on Christmas. I was raised on the story of Jesus Christ and to believe in Santa. I was never raised on any other faith nor do I practice any faith. I will still say Merry Christmas. I say it because it is a traditional thing to say this time of year. I say it out of respect. I’m not saying God bless you or anything like that.

I once had a profile on Myyearbook.com. It’s a crappy site to begin with where people use the site to send a virus to computer or another person. I said Merry Christmas. Some idiot yelled at me about how offended he was for me saying Merry Christmas. Why should it matter to him or offend him? I was locked out of my profile for two weeks because I said Merry Christmas. I had to e-mail Myyearbook many times. I made another profile and reported the user for abuse and spam. I had no right to do that probably, but he had no right either to tell me what I can and cannot say.

The same garbage happens this year. People are complaining about those who say Merry Christmas or Happy Holidays. People are actually upset that others remove Christ from Christmas. I honestly think it is insensitive. It is the same as trying to enforce the belief of Christianity in school. You can’t do it because not everyone practices the same faith and people are known to come here to America for religious freedom.

If you follow indigenous faith, most of them do not have a god and some of them have two or possibly more. If you are Hindu, you follow different gods and you have one named Krishna who is similar to Jesus. Those who follow Buddhism or Confucius do not have any deity. Atheists are skeptical of religion and would prefer not to follow a deity.

I honestly think that Santa was created for those who do not believe Jesus is a messiah. Those who practice Judaism do not believe that Jesus was a messiah. Muslims do not believe Jesus is a messiah, however they do believe that he was a disciple. Jehovah’s Witnesses don’t celebrate any holiday at all yet they tolerate our festivities. School break must be awesome for them.

What I am trying to say is that it does not matter whether you say Merry Christmas or Happy Holidays. What is most important is that we share what we believe and celebrate together. Planet earth is vibrant with festivities all year. Don’t ruin it by being a Scrooge or a Nazi. If you don’t like it, leave everyone alone and let them celebrate.  Oh, and by the way…Merry Christmas and have a safe new year!

Leave a Reply

