Sex Discrimination Is Bad Customer Service

I will let you in on a secret, I am 34. So, I have been on this planet long enough to know better. I look young and I am a female. I have owned cars since I was 17 and I have been taking my cars to mechanics since then. I have recently acquired more education and now I am smarter and a bigger monster than ever before. What I am trying to tell you is that I am not stupid.

The one problem I have always had is that mechanics look at my father and talk to him when MY car is in the shop. First of all, it is my car. You look at me and talk to me not him. Secondly, I am the one paying for the work. I can take my car elsewhere if you continue this chauvinist behavior.   Unfortunately, my father is my only transportation if my car is dead and he doesn’t have the balls to tell you to speak to his daughter. If you don’t like talking to women, quit your job.

What I believe is equally annoying is when I am told that I need some extra work or if required work is ignored. I had a Dodge Neon go to crap because Sundance Dodge was ignoring me when I continued to tell them that the car needed to be fixed. The transmission went bad because they did not do maintenance on the car.

Mechanics are not the only ones. Licensed contractors do the same thing. I already have to jump through hoops for maintenance on the gas in the house. A1 did $2,000 damage on the switch, thanks. He whined saying he was doing something good and then I treated him bad? Really? I own my house on my own, it doesn’t mean I am stupid.

There needs to be a law against sex discrimination on customers.  It is unethical in the workplace, why do it to customers?

Leave a Reply

